Get Adobe Flash player

You are here

Home » About Department

The Rubber Technology Program, which was first opened in 1993, belonged to the Faculty of Agriculture, Rajamangala Institute of Technology Nakhon Si Thammarat Campus. It opened an instruction at the vocational diploma level emphasizing an education in rubber plant science. In 1995, it was separated into the Faculty of Industrial Science to manage an instruction in rubber technology and improved the curriculum in 1999 to focus on science and technology in response to the principal needs of the industry.  In 2005, the Faculty of Industrial Science improved its curriculum and opened an instruction at the undergraduate level in rubber technology for the first time – a Bachelor of Science Program and a continuing Bachelor of Science Program. It went on teaching continuously and was combined with Rajamangala Institute of Technology and all institutes under Rajamangala Institute of Technology in the south were changed to Rajamangala University of Technology Srivijaya. On 14 November 2006, it was declared in the ministerial regulations to set up the government sectors so the Faculty of Science and Technology was founded at Rajamangala University of Technology Srivijaya Nakhon Si Thammarat Campus. The former Faculty of Industrial Science then became part of the Faculty of Science and Technology. On 27 August 2009, the university announcement declared the separation of the Rubber Technology and Polymer program from the Department of Industrial Technology into the Department of Technology and Polymer later on.